Major Cities of Maharashtra

Maharashtra is divided into thirty-five districts, which are grouped into six divisions: Aurangabad Division, Amravati Division, Konkan Division, Nagpur Division, Nashik Division, and Pune Division. Those divisions are Geographically, historically and according to political sentiments Maharashtra has five main regions:

  • Vidarbha (Nagpur and Amravati divisions)
  • Marathwada (Aurangabad Division)
  • Khandesh and Northern Maharashtra (Nashik Division)
  • Desh or Western Maharashtra (Pune Division)
  • Konkan (Konkan Division)

Maharashtra State in west central India; with area 307,762 sq km. Mumbai which is capital of Maharashtra(formerly Bombay), and other towns and cities include Pune, Kolhapur, Sangli, Nasik, Nagpur, Solapur, Ulhasnagar, Thana, Aurangabad and Amravati. The state is divided by the heavily forested Western Ghats into the Konkan coastal plain and the Deccan plateau. The plain is subject to the southwest monsoon from June to September. The Godavari and Krishna rivers rise in the Western Ghats and flow eastwards across the Deccan. Marathi is the official state language and spoken by vast majority of its populace. Nearly 50% of the population speak Marathi. 80% of the population are Hindu, with Parsee, Jain, and Sikh minorities. The state was formed in 1960.

Mumbai and Pune combined is the major industrial area in Maharashtra. Pune is occupied by most of the IT companies with Mumbai producing about one-third of India's tax revenues. State's present economic importance originates from the trading role of Mumbai and a cotton-growing hinterland. In the 1970s, decentralization initiatives led to the rapid growth of other centres such as Aurangabad. Mumbai has the biggest international airport in Maharashtra. The big cities are always been attractions for relatively smaller cities nearby. Specially during
holidays, weekends and festive season big cities attract crowds for shopping.

Maharashtra Industries include cotton processing at Mumbai, Nagpur, and Solapur, oil refining at Vasai, electrical goods, agricultural machinery, chemicals, and plastics; manganese ore, coal, iron ore, bauxite, and copper ore. India's first nuclear power plant is at Tarapur, which is 112 km/70 mi north of Mumbai. Agriculture products include rice (on the coastal plain), cotton, millet and wheat on the Deccan, dairy farming, groundnuts, sugar, and fruit.